What Are the Provisions of Maryland Car Insurance Laws?

Following a car accident, one key thing the parties must establish is whether they both have car insurance coverage. Having one means that the victim would get compensated for any loss suffered. Having insurance coverage is essential because most people who are uninsured cannot pay settlements out-of-pocket. As Maryland auto accident attorneys, we examined the provisions of the Maryland car insurance laws.

Maryland Auto Insurance Requirements 

Every driver in Maryland must have a certain amount of car insurance coverage. While on the road, they must carry the proof of their coverage and show it to a law officer upon request. Maryland car insurance is divided into minimum liability coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist protection, and personal injury protection (PIP).

Minimum Liability Insurance Coverage

This Maryland car accident insurance policy is a legal requirement in the state. The minimum liability insurance coverage pays for lost wages, injuries, and the victim’s pain and suffering. If there’s vehicle damage, this policy covers the compensation payment.

What it does not cover are injuries sustained by the at-fault driver or damages to their property. It means that if you’re the fault driver in an accident, the minimum liability insurance coverage won’t benefit you. Maryland divides this coverage into 30/60/15.

It means:

  • $30,000 for bodily injury per person. It represents the maximum dollar amount a single person gets in an at-fault motor vehicle accident.
  • $60,000 for bodily injury per accident. It represents the total amount the fault driver’s insurer will pay to the victim for the injuries sustained.
  • $15,000 for property damage per accident. It is the total amount your insurer will pay for physical and property damages.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage 

This coverage protects you if you suffer losses from an accident where the at-fault driver does not have car insurance. It also applies if the fault driver’s car insurance coverage is not enough. This policy covers your injuries and property damage. It also uses the 30/60/15 method, as mentioned above.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage

This coverage covers medical expenses incurred by you or passengers when an accident happens. Personal injury protection coverage applies irrespective of who is at fault in the collision. In Maryland, it is $2,500 per person.

Do Maryland Required Minimums Provide Enough Coverage?

On average, the minimum Maryland car insurance coverage is more robust than other jurisdictions in the United States. However, it is not always enough to cover the losses of the victim. If the victim suffered extensive wounds and had their car totaled, the fault driver’s insurance coverage may not be enough.

In that instance, the at-fault party would have to pay the rest of the victim’s compensation out-of-pocket. The one way to prevent this is by increasing your liability limits. It would protect you and your assets and prevent you from personally paying any outstanding amount.

What Is the Maryland Penalty for Driving Without Proof of Insurance? 

Like most jurisdictions in the United States, Maryland doesn’t play with the enforcement of its insurance laws. Thus, if the police book you for driving without car insurance coverage, you will face the following penalties:

  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • Imprisonment of up to one year
  • Confiscation of license plate
  • Uninsured motorist penalties for each lapse of insurance coverage. It is $150 for the first 30 days and $7 for every day after.

What Other Car Insurance Policy Does Maryland Law Recognize? 

Unlike other states in the U.S., Maryland allows drivers to have more insurance coverage than those mentioned above. You should consider the following car insurance coverage for more protection:

    • Comprehensive Coverage: It covers damages to your car from theft, weather events, and non-collision damages.
    • Collision Coverage: It covers damages resulting from a collision with a car or other fixed objects. The insured can collect this coverage regardless of whether they are at fault or not.
  • Rental Car Reimbursement Coverage: It is for those who want coverage for rental vehicles while theirs is inoperable. The limit varies by plan and rental company.
  • Roadside Assistance Coverage: It covers all the help you’ll get if you suddenly find yourself broken down on the road. It normally includes flat tire fixes, towing costs, and dead batteries, among others.

Speak to an Auto Accident Lawyer At Pinder Plotkin LLC!

Having car insurance is vital and would save you a lot of legal troubles. But there are times when the liability would go beyond what insurance can cover. In that instance, it is vital to consult an attorney. At Pinder Plotkin LLC, we have experienced auto accident lawyers available to listen to you. Contact us for a free case review today.

More Legal Blogs

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
Subscribe To Our Newsletter